Parish Groups

The following groups are currently operating through Portaferry Parish. If you are interested in joining any of the groups please feel free to contact us for more details.

Parish Council                                               

Parish Finance

Ministers of the Eucharistic

Ministers of the Word

St Vincent De Paul


Apostolic Work

Youth Forum

Ballyphilip Youth Club

Children’s Liturgy

Altar Servers

Altar Society

St Patrick’s Choir and Folk Group

Flower Arrangers

Parish Draw Collector’s

Church Group Cleaners

St Patrick’s Community Centre Committee

Peninsula Drama Group

Rosary Group

Portaferry Women’s Group

St Patrick’s Badminton Club



  • A Parish Pastoral Council (PPC) has now been formally constituted in the parish of Ballyphilip.
  • The Parish Pastoral Council consists of the following people: Fr Feargal McGrady, Kathleen Dumigan, Caiti Hannon, Mary Merron, James Magee, Peter Merron, Patrick Byers, Patrick Lennon, Nuala McKnight, and Pauline McCarthy.
  • Members of the Pastoral Council are committed to enriching the pastoral life of our parish.
  • The present council will remain in office for a period of three years and at the end of this period, elections will take place for a new Parish Pastoral Council.
  • Parish Pastoral Councils are being set up in all parishes in the diocese of Down and Connor and eventually they will be established throughout Ireland.
  • The Parish Pastoral Council is seen as a co-ordinating body working with all groups within the parish family.